Release Date: June 14 – 2011

File Under Music


Kings & Queens pairs the band with some of their favourite female singers and friends – and some of the biggest names in roots, blues and jazz – Roseanne Cash, Emmylou Harris, Pam Tillis, Serena Ryder, Lucinda Williams, Cassandra Wilson, Amy Helm, Janiva Magness, Mary Margaret O’Hara, Sam Phillips, Sara Watkins, Exene Cervenka, Patti Scialfa and Holly Cole. Grammy- and Juno-winning producer Colin Linden (Bruce Cockburn, Tom Wilson, Stephen Fearing, Colin James) took the helm for the new album, and the new recordings have taken the Kings from Nashville to Toronto to New York City to New Orleans, LosAngeles, Woodstock and back again. As the band explains, “No destination is too far for love….”

The idea for Kings and Queens was hatched in a rental van at the end of a Rodeo Kings tour. Late one night, on a long drive between Somewhere and Somewhere-else, the band began talking about the various female artists they have had the privilege of working with over the years. What began with a page torn out of a notebook and a lot of interjections like “Hey, what about…” and “Wouldn’t it be great to work with …” has transformed into a whole album. featuring these legendary and iconic female voices; one on each of fourteen stellar tracks

Order ‘Kings and Queens’ Now iTunes

Order ‘Kings and Queens Deluxe’ Now iTunes



  1. If I Can’t Have You (feat. Lucinda Williams)

  2. Another Free Woman (feat. Sara Watkins)

  3. Got You Covered (feat. Roseanne Cash)

  4. I’m Still Loving You (feat. Amy Helm)

  5. Golden Sorrows (feat. Cassandra Wilson)

  6. Shelter Me (feat. Patti Scialfa)

  7. My Town Has Moved Away (feat. Pam Tillis)

  8. How Come You Treat Me So Bad (feat. Janiva Magness)

  9. Step Away (feat. Emmylou Harris)

  10.  Heart A Mine (feat. Mary Margaret O’Hara)

  11. Brave (feat. Holly Cole)

  12. Made of Love (feat. Exene Cervenka)

  13. Love Lay Me Down (feat. Sam Phillips)

  14. Black Sheep (feat. Serena Ryder)